Main menu


No. 22 Buckeyes take 3-All Draw at No. 14 Akron – Ohio State Buckeyes

featured image

Box Scores | Season Totals

Columbus, Ohio – No. 22 Ohio State (4-0-2) drew 3-1 with No. 14 Akron (4-1-1) at FirstEnergy Stadium on Tuesday. Zips scored twice late in the second half to overcome Ohio State’s 2-1 advantage before the Buckeyes evened the game at 3-all in the 83rd minute.

how it happened

No. 14 Akron was first on the board and scored a goal in the 5th minute to put the Zips up 1-0.

The Buckeyes responded quickly to tie it 1–1 when junior Owen Sullivan scored a corner kick provided by sophomore Anthony Samways. Sullivan put it away for the score in the 7th minute when it was tipped off by freshman Marko Borković in the center of the net to the right of the Akron keeper. It was Sullivan’s first career goal in his 16 games for Ohio State.

Samways has four 5 assists in 3 runs this season. Volkovic, who was named Big Ten Co-Offensive Player of the Week earlier in the day, recorded his first career assist with three goals for the Buckeyes.

Senior Xavier Green scored without an assist in the 55th minute to break the 1–1 stalemate and give Ohio State a 2–1 lead. It was Green’s seventh goal in 65 career games.

Akron soon came back to tie the game 2-all in the 63rd minute with a goal from Jason Shawkaluk. Zips then took a 3–2 lead with a Stefan Dobrijevic goal in the 69th minute.

Shokalook was assessed a red card in the 74th minute, forcing Zips to play the last 16 minutes with 10 men. The Buckeyes tied the game 3-all in the 83rd minute when Samways senior Brayden Durbin headed in a corner kick. It was Durbin’s first career goal.

Senior keeper Keegan McLaughlin did not start for the Buckeyes after recording four straight shutouts in the final game against Butler. He kept his opponents scoreless in his final 399 minutes of the season, allowing just one goal in five games. Redshirt freshman Max Trejo made his first career start among the Buckeyes pipes.

Ohio State’s scoreless one-minute streak ended with Akron’s score of 403 in the fifth minute.


  • Redshirt freshman Max Trejo made the first start in goal. Freshman Marko Borkovic also made a first start in his career.
  • The Buckeyes participated in two Top 25 polls on Tuesday. Ohio State placed 24th in the TopDrawerSoccer poll and 22nd in the United Soccer Coaches poll.
  • Senior Keegan McLaughlin recorded four consecutive shutouts in the first five games of the season and held opponents to just one goal. The Notre Dame transfer has 14 career shutouts and 4 Buckeyes.
  • McLaughlin’s efforts in a 1-0 win at Bowling Green and a 2-0 home win over Light State earned him the Big 10 Defensive Player of the Week (9/6/22). After shutting out Butler (2-0) last Friday, he was named the Big His Ten Co-Defensive Player of the Week on Tuesday.
  • McLaughlin was also named CollegeSoccerNews Team of the Week as the Keeper for the week ending September 11th.
  • Freshman Marko Borkovic was named the Big Ten’s Cohesive Player of the Week on Tuesday. He has 3 goals this season and he has 2 match winners. He scored the first goal against the Bulldogs last Friday.
  • The last time Ohio State recorded four consecutive shutouts was in 2017, when the Buckeyes recorded six straight blanks from Sept. 1, 2017 to Sept. 22, 2017. Ohio State shut out seven of his eight opponents in the opening that year.
  • Lawrence Wootton, Nathan Damian and Luciano Pechota have been named to the 2022 Ulstein Classic All-Tournament Team. Wootton recorded a goal and an assist, Pechota recorded two assists and Demian led the defense, allowing just one goal in two games.
  • The Big Ten named Wootton its Offensive Player of the Week on August 30 for his efforts in the Ulstein Classic.
  • Wootton, Dylen Verrios and Owen Sullivan have been named captains for the 2022 season.
  • Ohio has been 127-67-33 in games played at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium since it opened in 1999.
  • Six Buckeyes from the 2021 roster have been named the 2022 Big Ten Distinguished Scholars.Samuel Buzas, Tommy Marsic and Repeaters
  • Connor DesRoches, Devyn Etling, Thomas Gilej and Peter Van Euwen were honored.
  • Seniors Xavier Green and Etling have opted to return to the Ohio State roster for a fifth year in 2022. Green began his career at Ohio State University in 2018, and Etling received his medical redshirt in 2017 and has been with the program since.
  • Former Ohio State head coach John Bloom was inducted into the Ohio State Track and Field Hall of Fame in the class of 2022 in a ceremony on Sept. 9 at the Cobbelli Center on the Ohio State University campus. Bloom recorded his 206 wins in his 21 seasons (1997 to 2017) and he made 10 appearances in the NCAA Tournament, including reaching the College Cup Finals in 2007.


The first Big Ten Conference game of the season will be played on Sunday, when No. 15 Indiana will visit No. 14 Ohio State University’s Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium.It’s Graduation Day in Columbus and the first contact is scheduled for 2pm